Shortcut Icons and Set Registry Value of a Exe to runasadmin

You have trouble using InstallForge? Then this is the right place for you.
Post Reply
dassoubarna
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:22 am

Although I set icons for both Desktop and Startup shortcuts as

Code: Select all

<installpath>\MyExe.exe
Or

Code: Select all

<installpath>\MyIcon.ico
but it always set a blank icon. How to resolve the isue? There procedure to set icon is not mentioned in the Documentation.

Moreover I want to run my program exe as "RUNASADMIN" and for that I add a registry key as

Code: Select all

Root: "HKLM";
 Subkey: "SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers\";
ValueType: String;
ValueName: "<AppName>\MyExe.exe"; ValueData: "RUNASADMIN";
But that is also not working.

Can anyone please help on that two topics? Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Soner
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:36 pm

Hello,
what icon index are you using for the "<installpath>\MyExe.exe" configuration?
Best regards,
Soner Boztas, M.Sc. Aerospace Engineering

Add me on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/soner-boztas-engineer
dassoubarna
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:22 am

Soner wrote:Hello,
what icon index are you using for the "<installpath>\MyExe.exe" configuration?
I tried '0', '1' and '2' but nothing worked
User avatar
Soner
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:36 pm

Hello,
I sent you a personal message in order to solve this problem.
Best regards,
Soner Boztas, M.Sc. Aerospace Engineering

Add me on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/soner-boztas-engineer
dassoubarna
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:22 am

Soner wrote:Hello,
I sent you a personal message in order to solve this problem.
Thank you Soner. I have resolved Issue by set all icon index to '0'. Now It works like a charm.

Just one more help I need.

I set to my installed exe to run as admin. For that I set a registry value like

Code: Select all

Root: "HKLM"; Subkey: "SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Layers\";
 ValueName: "<AppName>\MyEXE.exe"; ValueData: "RUNASADMIN";
It is not working. Am I doing something wrong? Please suggest.
User avatar
Soner
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:36 pm

Hello,
normally you would configure your executable manifest file to make it only run in administrator mode. What does your manifest file look like?
Best regards,
Soner Boztas, M.Sc. Aerospace Engineering

Add me on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/soner-boztas-engineer
CFerg
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:42 am

Hi,
I too am interested in having the end user run the app in admin role. I'm new to installForge, and am unsure where the manifest file is.

Please clarify. I'm using version 1.3.1
roemer2201
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 9:06 pm

dassoubarna wrote: ...

Code: Select all

ValueName: "<AppName>\MyExe.exe";
...
You should try <InstallPath> instead of <AppName>:

Code: Select all

ValueName: "<InstallPath>\MyExe.exe";
Or is there a special reason for using <AppName>?
Post Reply