Registry Protocol Handler

You have trouble using InstallForge? Then this is the right place for you.

BmanDesigns
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 2:06 pm

Registry Protocol Handler

Postby BmanDesigns » Thu Apr 23, 2015 2:10 pm

I am trying to create a protocol handler using the registry and the installforge registry meny.
I need the following:

Code: Select all

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT name/ (Default) = "URL:name Protocol" URl Protocol = "" shell/ open/ command/ (Default) = "name.exe" "%1"
I instead get

Code: Select all

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT name/ (Default) = "" (Default) = "URL:name Protocol" URl Protocol = "" shell/ open/ command/ (Default) = "" (Default) = "name.exe" "%1"
which caused it not to work.

EthanKeiley
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:20 pm
Location: Nevada

Re: Registry Protocol Handler

Postby EthanKeiley » Fri May 08, 2015 7:39 pm

I am experiencing a very similar issue. I am setting up my file associations and I have a file extension named ".spr" and I want it to launch a program called "SASSPRO2". So I create the key "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.spr" with a value name "(Default)" and value data "SASSPRO2" and instead of inserting "SASSPRO2" into the "(Default)" value, it creates a second value named "(Default)". I don't want two values called "(Default)", I simply want to insert my value data into the already existing "(Default)"

Image

Image

EthanKeiley
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:20 pm
Location: Nevada

Re: Registry Protocol Handler

Postby EthanKeiley » Fri May 08, 2015 8:34 pm

I have found a resolution for this. It involves manually editing the IFP file and removing the value name. I believe in older versions of InstallForge, you were not required to provide the value name field, thus you could add a value to the (Default) (@) value name. It appears in newer versions, they have made that field a requirement, who know why?

Anyways, if you open up the ifp file in notepad, you can edit it directly. Just change it from:

Code: Select all

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT .spr (Default) SASSPRO2
to

Code: Select all

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT .spr SASSPRO2
and voila! You can open it up in InstallForge and it will not have a value name assigned to it.

Image

Re-build it and you are ready to go.

I believe that it is a bug, but this may be a viable work-around until they get it resolved.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests